1991 Yoshi Kadota

Yoshie Kadota with Arthur Adamson (left) and Glenn Seaborg (right) photo 68695ac9-0fcb-494e-b022-68253aec9363.jpg

Yoshi Kadota
Recipient of the 1991 Agnes Ann Green Distinguished Service Award

Yoshie Kadota has been chosen as the third recipient of the Agnes Ann Green Distinguished Service Award of the Section. A participant in Section activities for over 50 years — she first attended Section meetings when she was a student at UCLA in the late ’30’s — she has outstanding contributions to the Section as Secretary from 1962 to 1966; Councilor from 1966 to 1971; and Alternate Councilor from 1972 to 1977. In addition, she served as Hospitality Organizer for several National ACS Meetings held in Los Angeles, including those for 1963, 1971, 1974, and 1988, and has assisted with the planning and running of numerous other events including Western Regional Meetings, local programs of the Division of Analytical Chemistry, and National Chemistry Day.

Yoshie Kadota’s first function with the Section was as Chair of the Hospitality Committee in 1960. In 1962, she was elected Secretary and held this post for four years, during which time she turned what had been something of a hit-or-miss operation into a smoothly functioning Section Office with premises, organized records, and an administrative secretary. As Councilor and Alternate Councilor, she was assiduous in attending Council Meetings, representing the Section’s interests, and strengthening the Western Regional Councilors Caucus.

Although Yoshie Kadota retired from her job in 1980, and became an Emeritus Member of the ACS in 1982, she continues her active association with the Section. She is often to be seen at Section meetings, and during the 1988 National ACS meeting held in Los Angeles, she contributed generously of her time and effort to the work of the Hospitality Committee. The Section is fortunate that it can count on the dedicated and effective service of long-time members like Yoshie Kadota, a most worthy winner of the Agnes Ann Green Distinguished Service Award of our Section.

– Harold Goldwhite, Chair
Agnes Ann Green Award Committee