

2023 HIGH SCHOOL CHEMISTRY OLYMPIAD AWARDS CEREMONY

Thursday, May 11th, 2023

Brought to you Virtually on Zoom



Welcome to the 109th Annual Southern California Section American Chemical Society High School Chemistry Olympiad Awards Ceremony

We honor the top high school teams, the top scorers of the competition, the National Olympiad Team, and the top student from each school with ten or more participants in the local section exam.

624 students took the local Southern California Section exam in-person, representing 30 schools. 14 students from the local exam were invited to participate in the National Exam on April 22 at Cal State Dominguez Hills.

Congratulations to all the students who participated in the Local and National Exams. Their accomplishments will be applauded and commended on this night.

Welcome

Edye Udell, Ph.D. *Chair, Southern California Section*

Presentation of High School Chemistry Olympiad Awards

Michael Morgan Education Chair, Southern California Section

Caroline Morgan Francisco Bravo Medical Magnet High School

Closing Remarks

Edye Udell, Ph.D. *Chair, Southern California Section*

School's Highest Scoring First Year Students

Student

Lenin Artile Mst Samiha Siddik Will Putzer Zhian Xu

School Francisco Bravo Medical Magnet HS Michael Morgan Francisco Bravo Medical Magnet HS Michael Morgan Harvard-Westlake HS Anna Villatoro-Mendez Francisco Bravo Medical Magnet HS Michael Morgan Palos Verdes Peninsula HS

School Coordinator

Heather Audesirk Chaz Lee

School's Highest Scoring Second Year Students

Student

School

School

Madison Gambin Alexis Meneses

Palos Verdes Peninsula HS Francisco Bravo Medical Magnet HS

School Coordinator

Chaz Lee Michael Morgan

School's Highest Scoring Students

Student

Konnie Duan Alexander Franks Hibah Khan Aleen Koujakian Aldon Lam Michael Lee Suzan Manoian Lidia Prokopovych Venice HS Prabodh Rao Daniel Rosado Jonathan Ryu Herrick Wang Sofie Wong Youyou Xie David Zhang Connor Zhao Carsten Zieger

Harvard-Westlake HS North Hollywood HS West Torrance HS Chaminade College Preparatory HS Temple City HS South Pasadena HS Clark Magnet HS Whitney HS Redondo Union HS Loyola HS Arcadia HS Westridge School for Girls Edye Udell Sierra Canyon HS Temple City HS North Hollywood HS Loyola HS

School Coordinator

Heather Audesirk Altair Maine Le Thu Nguyen Ryan Casey Debbie Gewecke Benjamin Ku Anna Mkrtchyan Barry Vella Paul Bender Wilkin Lee Fawzia Qazi Cherryl Mynster Mary Espanol Debbie Gewecke Altair Maine Fawzia Qazi

Southern California ACS Highest Scoring Students

| Student | High School | Place |
|--------------------|---------------------|-------|
| Daniel Hong | North Hollywood HS | 20 |
| Angel Shen | Palos Verdes HS | 20 |
| Shrish Goel | Arcadia HS | 18 |
| Yang Pan | Arcadia HS | 18 |
| Christine Xu | South Pasadena HS | 17 |
| Brandon Ha | Arcadia HS | 14 |
| Rijul Garg | Arcadia HS | 14 |
| Connor Zhao | North Hollywood HS | 14 |
| *Aldon Lam | Temple City HS | 13 |
| *Alexander Franks | North Hollywood HS | 12 |
| *Michael Lee | South Pasadena HS | 10 |
| *Prabodh Rao | Whitney HS | 10 |
| Qingyu Zhang | Arcadia HS | 9 |
| *Max Zhou | San Marino HS | 8 |
| *Theodore Danial | Redondo Union HS | 6 |
| *David Zhang | Temple City HS | 6 |
| *Lidia Prokopovych | Venice HS | 5 |
| *Konnie Duan | Harvard-Westlake HS | 3 |
| *Daniel Rosado | Redondo Union HS | 3 |
| *Ian Chan | Arcadia HS | 2 |
| *Herrick Wang | Arcadia HS | 1 |

*National Olympiad Team

2023 U. S. Chemistry Olympiad Local Section Exam

1st Place Overall Student Herrick Wang

National Olympiad Team

Herrick Wang, Arcadia High School Ian Chan, Arcadia High School Konnie Duan, Harvard-Westlake High School Alexander Franks, North Hollywood High School Daniel Rosado, Redondo Union High School Theodore Danial, Redondo Union High School Max Zhou, San Marino High School Michael Lee, South Pasadena High School David Zhang, Temple City High School Aldon Lam, Temple City High School Lidia Prokopovych, Venice High School Prabodh Rao, Whitney High School

Olympiad Highest Scoring 1st Year Team North Hollywood High School Teacher: Altaire Maine

Olympiad Highest Scoring Overall Team Arcadia High School Teacher: Cherryl Mynster

Paul Shin Memorial High School Teacher of the Year Award

If you know of a local high school chemistry teacher who is making a difference, please make the effort to show how important his/her work is to you and the students. Self-nominations from those who feel they fit the requirements are accepted as well. It's teachers like the recipients of this award who make learning chemistry rewarding.

Plus, there is a financial component of \$500. The \$500 will be an unrestricted award directly to the teacher. The winner of the Section Award will also be entered at the National ACS level for the Western Regional High School Teacher of the Year Award and the James Conant Bryant Award. Having won a previous award does not necessarily exclude a nominee; however, the nomination would need to be based on different criteria than the first award.

Nomination Package should include: Biographical sketch of nominee with date of birth, list of any publications, statement (no more than 1,000 words) of nominee's achievements as a high school chemistry teacher including quality of teaching, effective methods, nominee's ability to challenge and inspire students, extracurricular work (science fairs, clubs, etc.). Seconding letters are not essential, but up to five may be included. Nominating documents should be submitted via email to office@scalacs.org. Note that signed documents that have been scanned are acceptable.

The deadline for nominations is November 15th, 2023. Please feel free to contact Michael Morgan of the Educational Affairs Committee at mmorgan@lausd.net if you have any questions.

Here is a partial list of past recipients: Caroline Morgan, Francisco Bravo Medical Magnet High School Paul Groves, South Pasadena High School Dr. Deborah Bennett, Calabasas High School Paul Bender, Whitney High School Larry Walker, Calabasas High School Dean Papadakis, South Pasadena High School *Michael Morgan, Francisco Bravo Medical Magnet High School Cherryl Mynster, Arcadia High School

*2020 Recipient James Bryant Conant Award in High School Teaching



2700 E Foothill Blvd, Suite 209 Pasadena CA 9110 (310) 327-1216 • office@ scalacs.org www.scalacs.org